Free UK shipping on all orders over £150

The Usborne Reading 40 Books Collection - Ages 5-7 - Paperback
The Usborne Reading 40 Books Collection - Ages 5-7 - Paperback
The Usborne Reading 40 Books Collection - Ages 5-7 - Paperback
The Usborne Reading 40 Books Collection - Ages 5-7 - Paperback

The Usborne Reading 40 Books Collection - Ages 5-7 - Paperback

Usborne Publishing
Regular price
Sale price
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Product Code: B2D0094

ISBN: 9781474915083

Titles in This Set 

Titles from Usborne Young Reading Series One:

1. Stories Of Haunted Houses
2. The Dinosaurs Next Door
3. The Monster Gang
4. Stories Of Wizards
5. The Magic Gifts
6. The Story Of Toilets, Telephones & Other Useful Inventions
7. Stories of Mermaids
8. Stories of Dinosaurs
9. Animal Legends
10. The Burglar's Breakfast
11. Stories Of Witches
12. Stories of Robots
13. Stories Of Doll
14. Stories Of Pirates
15. Stories Of Monsters
16. Forgotten Fairy Tales: The Daring Princess
17. Stories Of Ghosts
18. Stories Of Dragons
19. Stories of Magical Animals
20. The Emperor's New Clothes
21. The Billy Goats Gruff
22. The Story Of Chocolate
23. The Sorcerer's Apprentice
24. Pirate Adventures
25. Icarus The Boy Who Flew Too High

Titles from Usborne Young Reading Series Two:

1. Romeo And Juliet
2. Hamlet
3. Macbeth
4. Alice Through The Looking-Glass
5. The Snow Queen
6. The Tempest
7. The Clumsy Crocodile
8. Black Beauty
9. Alice In Wonderland
10. The Wind In The Willows
11. Pinocchio
12. Beauty And The Beast
13. The Wizard Of Oz
14. The Secret Garden
15. Around The World In The Eighty Days


The Usborne Reading Programme has been helping children learn to read for pleasure for nearly twenty years. This comprehensive box set, featuring a selection of forty books from Young Reading Series One and Two, is perfect for launching your child into the next level of reading. Each volume has been assessed by educators, so you can be sure that your child is getting the good stuff.

This great value box set, containing forty books, will kickstart your child’s interest in reading. The broad selection means that every child can find a book they connect with, while also being broad enough to expand their horizons. It contains everything from Shakespeare to fairy tales, real life histories to amazing adventures, myths and legends to modern day tales. This set combines astonishing variety with great educational value, all at a bargain price.

Each book is beautifully illustrated throughout, and the series uses a wide variety of artistic styles, laid out next to the text in an exemplary manner. Each slimline paperback is the perfect weight for little hands, and the keepsake box provides a great way to store the books once they’ve been read - or in anticipation of the next one.

Who is it for?
The books included from Series One and Two range from Lexile Level 410L (Stories of Dragons) to 790 (Around the World in Eighty Days). This means they’re great for children between six and nine years old, in Key Stage 1 or 2, or years 2 and 5.

They’re perfect for building up children’s confidence in reading alone, since they’re simple and clear enough for kids of this age to understand. However, they also provide a great opportunity to engage with your child about what they’re reading, what the story is about, what the lesson of the story is, and if the book raises any questions for them.

The entire set has been put together by experts in education, which ensures that every book is suitable for your child’s stage of development. The Usbourne Reading Programme is relied upon across the country, by schools and parents alike, so you’re sure to have a great experience with the books in this collection.

What’s in the box?
Twenty-five books are included from Usborne Young Reading Series One. These books introduce children to a longer narrative in chapters, or feature several linked stories. They’re aimed at kids who’ve just started reading on their own, and the stories include wide-ranging everyday vocabulary, perfect for developing your child’s language skills.

This series includes many classic fairy tales, including The Billy Goats Gruff and The Emperor’s New Clothes. The selection also includes cool histories, like how the toilet was invented, to short story collections about haunted houses, pirates, witches, robots, and many more.

Following on from this series is Usborne Young Reading Series Two. These books are for more confident readers. They introduce irony and subplots, and allow children to draw their own inferences and deductions.

This series features simplified versions of many classic stories, drawing from Shakespeare, more advanced fairy tales such as The Snow Queen and Pinocchio, and classic adventure stories like Around the World in Eighty Days. New versions of childrens’ classics such as Black Beauty and The Wizard of Oz are also included, which help inspire the reader to keep at their development.



Sold Out